Nazaré

Une vague à peine, mais pas une vague quelconque! Une vague gigantesque qui a émergé sur la Plage du Nord surfée par la légende mondiale du surf, le surfeur hawaïen Garret McNamara en 2011. Cette vague écrasante de plus de 30 mètres de haut a changé pour toujours le destin de cette ville côtière pittoresque connue sous le nom de Nazaré . Ou comme disent les surfeurs: Naza!

Mais Nazaré est bien plus que les vagues à couper le souffle ! Nazaré est un charmant village de pêcheurs et une station balnéaire colorée, où vous sentez l’énorme importance de la tradition. Nazaré s’est développé de manière très soutenable au fil des années, en rendant hommage à son patrimoine commun et à sa mémoire historique.

L’une des images les plus marquantes de Nazaré est le chinchard – “carapaus” – séchant au soleil. Ou ses précieux bateaux bouillonnants de couleurs et de messages sur la vie. Ou les aimables femmes avec leurs 7 jupes vendant des fruits secs ou parlant fort. Comme si le temps s’était arrêté. Tout comme les femmes vêtues de noir sur la plage de Nazaré en 1955, brillamment représentées par l’objectif du grand photographe français Henri Cartier-Bresson. Ils sont l’âme de l’endroit.

La gastronomie locale est incroyable, composée principalement par des fruits de mer ou des spécialités de poisson, comme les « caldeiradas » de poisson – sorte de bouillabaisse ou le poisson séché, que vous ne pouvez pas manquer à Nazaré!

La meilleure vue sur Nazaré est à partir du Sítio, accessible à partir du funiculaire. C’est le point idéal pour contempler cette magnifique ville côtière, tout en sentant le vent sur votre visage. La mer comme vous ne l’avez jamais vue. Bienvenue à Nazaré!

Return to the top

Nazaré

It took one wave. In fact, not an ordinary wave. A giant wave emerging from the beach Praia do Norte, surfed by Hawaiian surf legend Garrett McNamara in 2011. This breath-taking 30-meter-high wave would change forever the fate of a picturesque coastal town known as Nazaré. Or as surfers like to call it: Naza!

The canyon of Nazaré is a puzzling geological phenomenon which is 5.000 meters deep and about 230 km long. It is the cause of such incredibly monster waves, attracting top surfers from all over the world. The big wave season begins in November and ends in February. Since 2011, the Big Wave Challenge in the iconic Praia do Norte has caught the eye of the world and Nazaré became a world-famous surf destination. But only for the brave!

There’s more to Nazaré than its wow-effect waves. In fact, Nazaré is also a charming fishermen town and a colourful seaside resort, where we can still feel the huge importance of tradition. Nazaré has developed in a very sustainable way, paying homage to its common heritage and historical memory.

One of the most moving images of Nazaré is the horse mackerel – “carapau” – hung out to dry in the sun. Or its beautiful boats bursting with colour and powerful life-related messages. Or friendly women dressed in their 7 skirts selling dry fruits and talking out loud. As if time stood still. Just like the black clad women in Nazaré beach back in 1955, brilliantly depicted by the  lens of the great French photographer Henri Cartier-Bresson. They are the very soul of the place.

Local gastronomy is mouth-watering, mostly consisting of shellfish and fish specialities like fish stews – “caldeiradas” – and dried fish, an absolute must in Nazaré!

The best view over Nazaré can be taken from Sítio district, where you can get to by funicular. This is the ideal spot to contemplate this absolutely unique coastal town, while feeling the wind on your face. The sea as you have never seen it before. Welcome to Nazaré!

Return to the top